2001-09-06
10:19 p.m.

Sorry for not writing the past two days, but by the time I have gotten home, my bed is the only thing I could think of.

On Tuesday, I went up to the clinic to pick up my paycheck. It's a pathetic amount, but every little bit helps. Then, I went and blew half of it at Petsmart. Okay, so not half of it, but I did spend a lot. I felt bad because the clinic has kept me away from my dogs. What can I say, the dogs rule my life.

Then, I went to do my usual babysitting ordeal. Why me? First, instead of babysitting my normal six and eleven year old, it turned into them, plus a three month old baby, and a four year old. Grr. It was total chaos. The baby kept crying, the six year old told the four year old to take off her clothes, and the four year old's mother yelled at the six year old. So, instead of just having a baby crying, I had a six year old crying as well. Then, to top off the night, they forgot to pay me.

Then, my little dog Maggie was getting spayed yesterday, so I was planning on going in early and staying with her the whole day. Well, my mom had neglected to tell me that she had an appointment at eight thirty, and would have to drop me off at seven thirty. So, into the clinic I go, thirty minutes before anyone else shows up. It's kind of creepy being there alone in the mornings. The morning was pretty busy, but it started to slow down around noon. I was excited because I thought I might actually be able to sit down for lunch. HA! Just about the time I was ready to sit down, in came Dr. Fuller with a dog that needed a c-section.

I was handed the first puppy out. It was so small, so fragile. I started rubbing it, trying to get it to breath. After about thirty minutes, I still hadn't gotten a breath, so I handed it off to someone more experienced, and took the fourth puppy. I got him to breath almost right away, and his two other siblings followed. The first puppy, however, remained lifeless. It was so amazing to be there, helping the puppy to breath. They were so beautiful, I just couldn't take my eyes off of them. After an hour, the first puppy was pronounced dead. The other three survived, and for that, I was thrilled.

After that, Maggie went into surgery. It's a running joke around the clinic, that Maggie was so determined to not get spayed that she went out and got herself hit by a car..twice. So, when we opened her up, I swear, her uterus was literally hiding. Even Dr. C had to smile at that. Then, after her anesthesia was turned off, Maggie wagged her tail. I have seen numerous responses from a dog comming up from anesthesia..but tail wagging is a new one. Then came that pathetic whining, which made me feel incredibley guilty. She knew it too. Spoiled little puppy.

Then, I go down back to pick the horses stalls. I made a mistake, and turned my back on a horse, only to find his teeth embeded in my butt. Hey, don't laugh, it's not funny. The evil horse bit my butt. I can't help but love this horse though, he keeps me on my toes.

My mom then comes to pick me up from work, and brings our little dog Gracie. She left her in the car for a second to come and talk to Dr. Fuller..well, that was a mistake. My mom goes to open the car door..and it's LOCKED. Gracie, that sweet, innocent, little puppy locked us out of our car. Where are the keys you ask..in the ignition. So, after much fiddling, we finally got the door open. Dr. Fuller, of course, is laughing his head off. I didn't think it was that funny, staring in the car window, Gracie innocently wagging her tail. Hmph ;)

I ended up working about thirteen hours yesterday, so, me being tired is an understatement. So, with that, I am going to bed, and I will fill you in on the rest tomorrow. ::yawns for emphasis::



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist