February 29, 2004
9:42 p.m.

It's kind of sad when the highlight of your day is getting gas ten cents cheaper while on your way home from work than if you had waited the hour and a half until you were on your way to school.

Mom and Roger went on a cruise a couple of weeks ago, leaving me alone for ten days. It was so nice being on my own for a bit. I got a lot accomplished too, which was nice. My Mom is probably one of the worst house keepers I know. My house looks like major white trash. Stuff from when my grandparents died is still sitting out on the front porch, because, of course, she can't get rid of anything. There is just stuff everywhere. Before she left on her cruise, there was absolutely no counter space in the kitchen, there was no room in the fridge, freezer, or pantry, yet, there was nothing to really eat either. While she was gone, I spent just about every waking moment cleaning in the kitchen, and, eleven trash bags, and ten days later, the kitchen is spotless. Gee, nineteen years old, and left all alone, and do I throw any wild parties? No, I clean the kitchen. I have got to get myself a life.

Fuller reared his ugly yet again during that week. He went to Boss Man and complained, saying that no body liked him, that Dr. C and Dr. Lee were mean to him. Blah blah blah. Tell me, does this not sound like a three year old. He got mad because Dr. C came in on his weekend on call to cut a C-section for a friend of Dianna's. Now, Fuller is known for showing up on his days off to do surgeries and stuff like that for his special clients, but, when Dr. C does it for the first time ever, he runs to Boss Man and claims that it's all to spite him. He thinks everything is about him. That every choice Dr. C or Dr. Lee make are to go against him in some way. Dr. C was so pissed after the meeting, she spent about an hour and half venting to me. Luckily, Boss Man isn't really putting very much merit on Fuller's claims, because he knows how Fuller is, but he is getting sick of all the arguments and such. He his forcing the doctors to meet once a week now and discuss all their cases and stuff like that. It's supposed to encourage a better working relationship, we'll see. I swear, you would think that doctors would be able to act a little more like grown ups. ::Shakes head::

I ended up spending all of last week sick as a dog with a cold, flu..something. Wednesday, it took me twenty minutes to convince myself to even get out of bed. I normally get right up. I would have called in sick to work, ezcept we had a horse surgery and there was no one else to do anesthesia. When Dr. C got to work, she took one look at me and asked if I was about to pass out on her. Dianna told me, in her oh so nice way, that I looked slightly worse than crap. I was really feeling the love. Dr. C decided she was going to reschedule the horse surgery since I was so sick. I protested, telling her that I drug my sorry butt out of bed for the stupid horse surgery, and we were darn well going to do it. After asking me ten times if I was sure I was up to it (I must have really looked bad for her to be that concerned), she agreed. After laying the horse down, and having to stand out in the cold surgery room with a fever, I began to second guess my choice. Luckily, the horse cooperated quite nicely under anesthesia, he was actually the best one I have done yet. I settled him on two and a half, and his heart rate and breathing remained exactly the same throughout the entire procedure.

Thursday, to my utter surprise, I woke up to a strange sound. After yelling at my dogs, who stared at me as if I had lost my mind, I realized the sound was coming from outside. I pulled back my curtains to see a flurry of white. Deciding that it couldn't be snow, since it never snows in Georgia, I walked into the living room, and looked out the front door. I saw a blanket of snow covering everything aroud me. I still felt like crap, and Mom refused to let me drive, so I called into work. It kind of sucked cause I felt so bad that I didn't go out and play in the only snow we'll get for the year, but it was nice to look at.

Saturday, as I was just waking up, ready to enjoy my day off, the phone rang. I then hear Mom calling my name. There is only one place that would be calling me at eight o'clock on a Saturday morning. Yup, work, with the 'Heather, Lori went home sick and you are such a sucker and can never say no when we ask you to do things, so could you please give up your day off even though you are still sick and come in and work since we are completely over booked and the day looks to be hellacious?' speach. Okay, so I made half of that up, but you get the point. The day wasn't that bad, except the part where Cal decided to leave before mentioning that he had never made it to the barn that morning, and that none of the horses had been fed or stalls picked. As I went down to do my check before I leave, I found the stalls disgusting, the horses with little water. So, by my self, on my supposed to be day off, I am stripping stalls. Then, one of those horse's bandages is messed up, so we had to change that. Since she had been in her stall for three days due to bad weather, she was feeling a bit frisky. As I watched her hooves fly inches from my face for a second time, I got really pissed at Cal. Not just Cal, but the afternoon help in general. Almost every morning Lori and I have to have a vent session before we can go on with our job. It's not big things, but just tons of little things that aren't ever done. Cages not cleaned, stalls not stripped, floors unmopped. I mean, really, what are they doing in the afternoons? I didn't get to leave until almost four on Saturday, so now, I feel like I didn't get a weekend, and with me still sort of sick, I was really looking foward to some R&R. Hopefully this week will go better.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist