March 05, 2003
10:31 a.m.

Boy, it's good to be back! Anyway, here is a jumble of entries from the past two weeks...

So, the wedding was yesterday, and it was a big joke. Mom and I went to get our hair done, and a full can of hairspray later, we walked out. Running late of course. We got home, and Roger is sitting on his ass, the car not loaded, nothing ready, even though he sees the minutes ticking away on the clock. I help Mom pack up the car, and off we go to the church. We get there, and have three seconds to get dressed for the photographer. We take photographs, blah blah blah, and it's time for the ceremony, except the best man hasn't arrived yet. Half the people Mom invited didn't show up. Best man finally shows up, we go through the ceremony, me about to fall asleep the whole time. I don't like Roger, and, all this time hasn't changed that. The reception seemed to last forever, my Mom enjoying asking me to do stuff with my 'new step-father.' When they left, I got stuck at the church doing most of the clean up. I didn't get home until after ten o'clock. It took me over half an hour in the shower to get all the hair spray out of my hair. I didn't get in bed until after midnight. I was up at six the next morning to go to work. I spent the day half asleep, and here I am, needing to write more than ever, and there is no internet to write on. Mom could pay for the wedding, but not half of our bills.

-----------------------------

Today was one of those days you just wish you could erase, and forget about. We had a dog come in, from a client that runs a puppy mill. Most of her dogs are thin, and shouldn't be bred, but she breeds them anyway. This is the case with the dog she brought it. Her abdomen was swollen with puppies, but she couldn't deliver them. We gave her a full bad of fluids before we took her into surgery for a c-section. One puppy after another was pulled out of her, I was slinging as many as three at a time. When they began to breathing, we passed them on to the owner. Finally, all eleven puppies were out, and I was working on the one puppy that just didn't want to come around. I had been giving it drugs to stimulate it's breathing and heart, but he just wasn't doing great. Kathy was in with Dr. C watching anesthesia, when, suddenly, she comes out of the room, and grabs the epinephrin, which is a drug that stimulates the heart. Dr. C then called for me to come into the room, so I passed the puppy, who didn't make it, onto Kelly, and went into the surgery room. I glanced at the heart monitor, and saw the the dogs heart rate was almost nonexistant. Dr. C had me breathing for the dog, while she did CPR. We worked on the dog for half an hour, and never got a heart rate. She died.

I work with anesthesia every day, and I guess I kind of forget how dangerous it is. It's a risk, even the simplest procedures are a risk. I kind of walked around in shock the rest of the day. I think we all did.

------------------------

Leslie called me the other day, and told me that I have two weeks to get my horse off of her property. Those exact words. This from a girl who is supposed to be my friend. Ha. So, I am now going to be scrambling to find a place I can take my horse, for very little money. Good luck me. Leslie's reasoning..Elisa kicked at her for no reason, which, is well, bull crap. Oh well, I'll find something.

-------------------------

Dr. C walked up to me today, and asked me when I was planning to start school. I told her, that if I can get my SATs under my belt, that I would like to start this June. She nodded, and a few minutes later, looked up and told me that she was going to pay for my first quarter as a "wedding present" from my Mom's wedding. I told her that I couldn't let her do that, that I appreciated the offer, but I would manage. Now, I am stubborn, and I admit it, but I think Dr. C has me beat. We "argued" for almost thirty minutes, until I relented. Dr. C seems to have taken me under her wing, and decided that she wants me to be a vet, and will help me in any way possible. I am so greatful to her. I respect, and look up to her more than I can ever express. I hope she knows what an impact she has had on my life.

----------------------------

Whew, today was a crazy day. It all starts when I drive up to work in a monsoon. Okay, so maybe not a monsoon, but it was raining pretty darn hard. So, I drive into the parking lot, to see Kelly driving in after me. Kelly and I share weekends, so, we aren't supposed to be there together. Well, me, being the idiot I am, run up to her truck window, in the pouring rain, asking her what she was doing here. After a few seconds, I realize I am getting soaked, and maybe I wasn't the smartest person to be standing there. So, I tell Kelly to meet me inside. Kathy drives up in the middle of this whole discussion, so the three of us brave the rain and run inside. Kelly decides to stay at least until it quits raining. I look down at my pants, and they are soaked. I was ringing water out of them. I grumbled, but grabbed the bright pink pair of scrub pants we have on hand at the clinic. I glared at Kathy when I came out of the bathroom, as she cracked a smile at me in my florecent pink pants. When she was done laughing, we went into the back to start cleaning up, and getting ready for the day. We opened the door to the X-ray room, where we had some animals caged, since our ICU area was full. There had been this dog, Daisy, who had come in for diarrhea. She had been at the clinic for almost two days, with nothing, well, this morning she had an explosion of bloody diarrhea. It was everywhere. There was another dog, Chatty, who we hadn't even put in a cage because she had been so weak. She had been at the clinic for about a week, without once leaving her bed. Well, apparently the diarrhea explosion made her decide she had to go as well. She peed and pooped all over the X-ray room, including pooping on our X-ray pedal. Kathy and I looked at each other, and just laughed that laughter when you are deciding the day can't get any worse. So, Kathy starts to try and get some of the diarrhea cleaned up, while I am getting water for another dog. Now, I have already been soaked once today, but, I guess my body didn't think that was enough, so, I spilled the whole bowl of water on me. I looked at Kathy, collapsed on the floor, and groaned. Well, my groan was short lived, because we heard the front door open. A lady came in with a dog we had done a c-section on the day before. The dog was not doing great, just really weak, and lethargic. So, we are trying to hide the horrible diarrhea mess from her, and take care of the dog at the same time. After we got the dog stable, we were frantically trying to get everything done before the doctors walked into the door. It didn't happen. Dr. Fuller hit the building, and things were still awry. He decided that that was enough to put him in a bad mood, and decided to be a jerk for the rest of the day. I ran around like a chicken with my head cut off all day. It was crazy. I'm just glad that Kelly is nice enough to work for me this weekend.

-----------------------

Fuller is a jerk. There just really isn't much more to say on that topic.

-----------------------

Finally moved Elisa to her new home this morning. It is such a relief to have that all over and done with. I was starting to worry because I couldn't find any where, when finally this place popped up. It's great, there are trails, and a round pen, and a nice barn. It's really nice. Elisa has another horse to play with. It's really close to my house. I think it will all work out.

----------------------



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist